Name : Lake Chad Basin Commission

Inception : 22nd May 1964 by Fort-Lamy Convention (now N’Djamena)

Founding fathers : Ahmadou Ahidjo (Cameroon), N’Garta Tombalbaye (Chad), Hamani DIORI (Niger), Tafawa Balewa (Nigeria);

Basic documents : Convention, Statutes and Internal Regulations

Member countries : Cameroon, Niger, Nigeria, Chad, CAR, Libya

Surface area of Conventional Basin : 967 000 km² (excluding Libya)

Population of the Conventional Basin : About 30 million inhabitants

Common heritage : Lake Chad, 3rd freshwater lake in the world and 4th largest lake in Africa

Surface area at inception of LCBC : 25 000 km²

Surface area in 2010 : About 2 000 km²

Tributaries : Logone and Chari, El-Beid, Komadougou-Yobe, Yedsaram, Ngadda, Serbewel, taf-taf

Economic activities offered by Lake Chad: small-scale fishing, irrigated agriculture, research for oil resources.

Jurisdiction: the jurisdiction of the LCBC extends to the Conventional Basin (967 000 sqkm, without Libya) made of three (3) regions in Cameroon, three (3) in Central African Republic, two (2) in Niger and six (6) States in Nigeria, and the entire Chad Republic. 

People: population in the Conventional Basin of Lake Chad is around 30 million inhabitants coming mainly from Cameroon, Niger, Nigeria, Chad and Central African Republic. People living in the Lake Chad Basin are drawn from several ethnic groups and tribes, such as the Kanuri, Mobber, Buduma, Haussa, Kanembu, Kotoko, Shewa Arabs, Haddad, Kuri, Fulani and Manga. They are fishermen, herders, farmers, traders, even some have become farmer-herders or famer-fishermen.

Error | The Lake Chad Basin Commission


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.